Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, so goes the old saying, and I’m all about imitating the lovely Miss Dibs in this make!

DSCF4311cIt’s a McCall’s cowl neck dress (M6752), but extended to make it a maxi, a la Dibs here.

Quite an easy pattern, and quick to run up. Just had to stop and think about the self-faced cowl, but that’s only cos I forgot to slash it at the start.

I cut a 14 – just a week or so after I bought some size 8 jeans in the Phase Eight sale. Why can we not just have real-life inches or, when sewing, numbers that just relate to their being a smallest to biggest size printed on the pattern (eg 1 to 6)?! I’m not normally a UK size 8 or US 14, so it’s a confusing and slightly annoying pointless nonsense… *Rant ends*

I just made one fitting alteration to keep the top a wee big more snug on my lower ribs before scooping out to the kimono sleeve. I thought this was a bit more flattering to my shape, as the top is really quite flouncy.

IMG_0663c

new cutting line in pink…

This pattern, strictly speaking, needs me to add an inch in the bodice length, but I knew this fabric was heavy, and with a maxi skirt I knew it would weigh it down to put it in the right place! Must remember to extend if I use it in lighter fabric though.

This fabric is so lovely! It’s from my favourite roll-end shop (£2 pm! Bargain!), and is a weird combo of knit and woven, which means it frays quite a bit, so I did have to finish the seam edges. But I just zigzagged them. (Oh, I do want an overlocker…)

fabricSo, that was my first finish of 2014, and a pretty-much immediate blog post (its coat-hanger premier was on twitter last night…!). I can’t promise such a quick turnaround usually, but I do have several unblogged makes, so maybe today is the day for a photo sesh!

I’m really happy with it, the weight of fabric makes it surprisingly warm. It’s a short-step dress though- I got the last of the fabric and it had a random cut across the bottom, which can be the way with roll-ends, so the skirt hem is a couple of inches snugger than ideal, but I can wiggle along ;)

DSCF4316c

